The Canadian Nautical Research Society Société canadienne pour la recherche nautique

Canadian charitable organization 11921 9525 RR0001



Paul Adamthwaite, Ph.D., Past President Chair, Nominating Committee 2014-15

"The Victory" 205, Main Street, Picton, Ontario, K0K 2T0 tel: (613) 476 1177 e-mail: paul.cnrs@navalmarinearchive.com

6 June 2014

Nominating Report – 2014

Good afternoon to you all.

This will be my third and last nominating report, and in fact, very shortly I will no longer be a member of Council, so please bear with me if this report is slightly longer than a skeletal list of nominations.

I am saddened to have to report the resignation of three Councillors: Isabel Campbell, Barbara Winters and Dan Conlin. Isabel has served for many years and is known to all of you; Barbara has served for a shorter period as has Dan. They all brought wisdom and experience – necessary ingredients to the executive board of a volunteer organization such as ours – and I am sure that you will join me in thanking them. Perhaps our incoming president could write to them on behalf of the membership?

I will miss them all, but the silver lining to this rather grey cloud is that that they remain members and two of them have confirmed their willingness to continue with volunteer activities: Isabel wishes to continue with her co-editorship of *Argonauta*, a role that she has so brilliantly assumed; and Barbara has expressed a willingness to assist with our statutory transition to the *Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act*.

This brings me to touch on a few points intended solely to assist the incoming Council with respect to the transition, which has a deadline of 17 October 2014. This year's nomination process has brought to the forefront a number of apparently potential discrepancies in our bylaws which have served us well since 2002. None of them are necessarily legally fatal under the current legislation, but many are most likely to fail transition scrutiny by Industry Canada. The next few months are an ideal opportunity to move the Society forward, improve the flexibility, clarity and functionality of our charter – and avoid the frustrating situations that I have experienced this year as Nominating Chair. The new statute requires us to define a minimum and a maximum number of councillors and I might suggest that a mandatory minimum of three and a perhaps optimistic maximum of fifteen could avoid the screed of emails, lengthy debates and the hours of thought and research that was occasioned this year. Equally, the transition to

the *Not-for-profit Act* gives us the ideal opportunity to redefine how Council communicates with the membership, including electronic means, and would avoid the current situation where there are members who have not yet received notice of this AGM. Lastly, I would stress that the transition should not only retain, but perhaps make more obvious what our then-President wrote in 2001, published in *Argonauta*, XVIII, no. 3, concerning conflict of interest applying to Councillors standing for re-election. I agreed with his intent then, and perhaps even more so today after having been subjected to such a situation. There are other areas where the transition could be of enormous benefit to our Society, but outside the scope of this nominating report.

Two final points concerning this year's nominating list: I have not included a "Councillor 4: vacant" line – a legal opinion is required, but I consider that announcing a "vacant position" is more restrictive to the future Council than just leaving it out. I have also included two Councillors "to serve as Vice-Presidents", occasioned by a discrepancy in our bylaws; this might be overly semantic, but makes no practical nor functional change to the Council, and will, I suggest, better survive transition scrutiny.

I now present to you the following list of nominations which complies with Articles 14, 19, 21, 22, 26 and 31 of our bylaws:

President: Chris Madsen Treasurer: Errolyn Humphreys Secretary: Rob Davison Membership Secretary: Faye Kert Past President: Maurice Smith Councillor 1: Roger Sarty (to serve as First Vice President) Councillor 2: Richard Mayne (to serve as Second Vice President) Councillor 3: Walter Lewis

And I would add, in keeping with the traditions of past nominating reports, that our Honourary Members Alec Douglas and Jim Pritchard have lifetime voice but not vote at all meetings of the Council.

I now move that this 2014 nominating report be received and accepted by the membership.

Thank you.

Most respectfully,

Paul Adamthwaite, Past president; chair of the Nominating Committee.